AfroAnimation Virtual Summit

Video-On-Demand Available Now

New Video App Launch

Free PassFree StudentVip PassGo to SummitNotify of App Launch

 WHO TO EXPECT AT  
AFROANIMATION

What is
AfroAnimation?

In 2021, for 2 days AfroAnimation will be the global online destination for African, Afro-American and Afro-European animators, comic book artist and Gamers to meet their cross continent counterparts, exchange ideas, learn, network and get deals done with senior media industry stakeholders.

Our goal is to bring together the best animation, comic and gaming talent of color on the planet in a single online destination. When it’s over we will have connected talent, showcased some of the most creative works, exchange ideas that  move the community forward, increased the black animator talent pipeline, awarded student internships and be an active ambassador to industry deals closing.

Webinar & Streaming Platform

10:30 am ET/7:30 am PT/GMT+1 3:30 pm

SPONSORS

How Does Attending AfroAnimation
Benefit You?

Discovering amazing animation, comic and gaming stories curated by Black/African/ Brown creators from around the globe.

Networking with black animation, comic and gaming counter-parts worldwide, including executives from movie studios, television networks, gaming companies, universities , illustrators and more.

Gaining insights from a wide variety and diverse back-ground of  thought-leaders, illustrators, creators, designers, developers. gameheads, academic and more.  

Increasing black creative talent pipeline and inclusion numbers by interacting with talent from the US, Africa and Western Europe.

Securing industry partnerships and new collaborations. 

Casting your vote for the  top animation, comic and gaming and kids stories  of 2021, representing Black culture, communities and experiences.

Real Time Networking Opportunities
with Black Animators at AfroAnimation

Dr. Sarah Kambites

President and CEO, United Nations Association in Canada

Conrad Montgomery

Vice President, Current Animation, Nickelodeon

Announcing Our First Group of Speakers

Monica A. Young

Producer of Hair Love and
Owner of Blue Key Entertainment

John Jennings

New York Times Bestselling Author, Professor and Design Theorist

Jay Francis

VP, Current Series & Diversity, Disney Television Animation

Morenike Dosu

Senior Department Manager, DreamWorks Animation

Trent Correy

Director & Animator at Walt Disney Animation Studios, Co-Founder of Rise Up Animation

Warren Holder

Lead Character Designer,
Netflix Animation

Candice Wilson Cherry

Head of Development & Production, LOL! Network

Lauren A. Brown

Acting Associate Art Director Zynga

Crescent Imani Novell

Animation and Live-Action
Writer, Mattel

Shawn Martinbrough

Author of How to Draw Noir Comics: The Art and Technique of Visual Storytelling

Firdaus Kharas

Founder, Chocolate Moose Media,
Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts

Frank E. Abney III

Director at Netflix Animation, Co-Founder of Rise Up Animation

Bobby Pontillas

Show Creator at Walt Disney TV Animation, Co-Founder of Rise Up Animation

John Kambites

Feature Producer
Cinesite

Carl Reed

Academy Award Winning Producer, Chief Creative Officer and President of Lion Forge Animation

Kibwe Tavares

Writer/Director, Netflix Animation, Factory Fifteen, UK

Sonya Carey

Founder and Curriculum Designer of The Animation Lounge

Ozi Menakaya

Film & TV Agent at Creative Artists Agency, Specialty, Africa and the Middle East

Vaughn Ross

Animation Director
at Warner Bros. Animation

Shabrayia Cleaver

Production Manager
DreamWorks

Jennifer Okafor

Multicultural Business Strategy Group at Creative Artists Agency

Dawud Anyabwile

Emmy Award Winning Illusrator and Co-Creator of the Brotherman; Dictator of Discipline Comic Series

Shawna Mills

Story Artist, Director and
Designer, Owner of SodaMonkey

Newton Lilavois

Creator/Writer of Crescent City Monsters, Dream Fury Comics

Mbuotidem Johnson

Founder & CEO, 
Basement Animation, Nigeria 

Nuno Martins

Principal of The Animation School, South Africa

TJ Sterling

President & Lead Artist
RAE Comics

Pearl Low

Story Artist, Comic Artist and Illustrator

Jermaine Hargrove

CEO/Founder,
Small Town Animation Studios

Whaketa Hargrove

COO/Co-Founder,
Small Town Animation Studios

Gavin Ball

Game Developer, Digital Media Creator and Concept Artist for Games, Full Circle CS

Okema T. Moore

TV/Film Producer & Director

Adrian Bobb

VFX Artist/Director, Founder of Exocentric Productions

Michael Uwandi

Creative Director and
Co-Founder of 9B

Ava L. Hall

Global Media, Entertainment & Culture Executive
(Former Vice President, BET International/ViacomCBS)

Phil Boutte

Custom Concept Artist and Production Designer

Chris Gallagher

Chair of Animation at Savannah College of Art and Design

Leisl Adams

Writer, Artist, Director,
Canada

Yasmina F. Edwards

Entrepreneur & Founder
of EGM NY

Idris Olorunnimbe

Founder/Group Chief Executive, The Temple Company.

Jeremy Nixon

Director & Animator,
Nixon Animation

Fred Noland

Visual Storyteller

Royce Adkins

Filmmaker and Comic Book Author, Stone Harbor Productions

Mounia Aram

Founder and President,
Mounia Aram Company

Riley S. Wilson

Multi-Hyphenate Artist
Founder of Little Apple Universe

Kenia Mattis

Producer and Founder of ListenMi, Jamaica

Chaz Bottoms

Animation Director, Writer,
CBA Studios

Camille Selvon

Founding Director of Animae Caribe Animation,
Trinidad and Tobago

Isaac Mogajane

Co-Founder and Executive Director, Diprente

Obi Arisukwu

Artist/Writer

Monica Lago-Kaytis

Producer & CEO, Frogbot Films, Co-Founder, Rise Up Animation

Prince Smith

Animation Director,
Adventurous Minds

Djofray Makumbu

Artist, UK

Lamount Pounds

Animation Director,
Adventurous Minds

Louis Lubega

Creator of Olwatuuka, Animator and Producer, Uganda

Ashley Kibali

Children's Content Producer, CEO and Founder of Seventy-Two Media Group Ltd, Kenya

Uzoma Harry Dunkwu

Scroll Entertainment,
Executive Director, Nigeria

Valu Vasconcelos

CEO and Content Director
Valu Animation Studios, Brazil

Bobby Beck

CEO
Animation Mentor

Saïdou Bernabé

Co-Founder of PARALLEL 14 Academy, Head of PARALLEL 14 Studio, Martinique

Adebisi Adetayo

CEO/Technical Director,
32ad Animation Studios

J. Meeka Stuart

Emmy Nominated Director and Animator

Ethan Becker

Story Director/Supervisor

Victor Dandridge

Inhouse Productions & U Cre-8 Comics

Mounia Aram

Founder and President,
Mounia Aram Company

Shawn Martinbrough

Author of How to Draw Noir Comics: The Art and Technique of Visual Storytelling

Trent Correy

Director & Animator at Walt Disney Animation Studios, Co-Founder of Rise Up Animation

John Kambites

Feature Producer
Cinesite

Ava L. Hall

Global Media, Entertainment & Culture Executive
(Former Vice President, BET International/ViacomCBS)

Divya Gupta

President & CEO
G.R.I.D.S Consulting

Idris Olorunnimbe

Founder/Group Chief Executive, The Temple Company.

Tatiana Kober

President, Bejuba! Entertainment Inc.

Rio Cyrus

Co-Chair and
Head of Programming

Seth Schachner

Managing Director of
Strat Americas, Advisor

Jasmin James

Head of Communications

Laurie Meiring

Head of Global
Social Media Strategies

John Kambites

Head of Media Partnerships, Canada

Joshua Owusu Ankomah

Head of Creative Artist Marketing, UK & Ghana

Ivana Struzanceva

Manager of Viral
Growth Strategies

Nikiiyah Gest

Manager of University and
Social Outreach Partnerships, US

Tobi Uzumaki

Manager of Creative
Talent Outreach, UK

Douglas Tarenyika

Manager of Speaker Outreach , USA

Cameron Merriwether

UI/UX Mobile Designer

Jochy Garcia

Head of Art and
Videography

Eliana Santos

Manger of
Merchandising

Program Agenda

10:30 am ET/7:30 am PT/GMT+1 3:30 pm

AGENDA

(PANEL TOPICS - DAY 1)

MAY 19TH 2021
KEYNOTE 1
Keith White
Founder and Co-Chair of AfroAnimation
Dr. Sarah Kambites
President of the
United Nations Associates in Canada
10:30 AM ET/7:30 AM PT/3:30 PM GMT+1
Why a Career in Animation?
(5 Speakers)
11 AM - 11:55 AM ET/8AM - 8:55 AM
PT/4 PM - 4:55 PM GMT+1
Increasing the Black Creative Talent Pipeline
(6 Speakers)
12 PM - 12:55 PM ET/9 AM - 9:55 AM PT
5 PM - 5:55 PM GMT+1
The Evolving Landscape of African Animation
(7 Speakers)
1:00 PM 1:55 PM ET/10:00 AM - 10:55 AM PT
6 PM - 6:55 PM GMT+1
Lunch Break and
General Networking
2 PM - 2:45 PM ET/11 AM- 11:45 AM PT
7 PM - 7:55 PM GMT+1
Drawing Ourselves: Being Black in Animation
(5 Speakers)
3 PM - 3:45 PM ET/12 PM - 12:55 PM PT
8 PM - 8:55 PM GMT+1
Developing Original Comic Book Stories & Superheroes (6 Speakers)
4 PM - 4:55 PM ET/1 PM - 1:55 PM PT
9 PM - 9:55 PM GMT+1
A Conversation with Animation Pioneers
(4 Speakers)
5 PM - 5:55 PM ET/2 PM - 2:55 PM PT
10 - 10:55 PM GMT+1
(Networking reception)
6 PM - 7:00 PM ET/3 PM - 4PM PT
11:00 PM - 12 AM GMT+1

AGENDA

(PANEL TOPICS - DAY 2)

MAY 20TH 2021
KEYNOTE 2
Keith White
Founder and Co-Chair of AfroAnimation
Conrad Montgomery
Vice President,
Current Animation, Nickelodeon
10:30 AM ET/7:30 AM PT/3:30 PM GMT+1
Partnerships & Collaborations: Africa, Europe & The Caribbean (4 Speakers)
11 AM - 11:55 AM ET/8AM - 8:55 AM PT
4 PM - 4:55 PM GMT+1
Developing Original Film and Television Series
(6 Speakers)
12 PM - 12:55 PM ET/9 AM - 9:55 AM PT
5 PM - 5:55 PM GMT+1
From Script to Screen
(5 Speakers)
1:00 PM 1:55 PM ET/10:00 AM - 10:55 AM PT
6 PM - 6:55 PM GMT+1
Lunch Break and
General Networking
2 PM - 2:45 PM ET/11 AM- 11:45 AM PT
7 PM - 7:55 PM GMT+1
Kids Animation and Storytelling
(6 Speakers)
3 PM - 3:45 PM ET/12 PM - 12:55 PM PT
8 PM - 8:55 PM GMT+1
Resources to Launch Your Animation Career
(4 Speakers)
4 PM - 4:55 PM ET/1 PM - 1:55 PM PT
9 PM - 9:55 PM GMT+1
Open Mic - Exploring Ideas to Increase the Diversity and Inclusion Pipeline
5 PM - 5:55 PM ET/2 PM - 2:55 PM PT
10 - 10:55 PM GMT+1
(Networking Reception)
6 PM - 7:00 PM ET/3 PM - 3:55 PM PT
11:00 PM - 12 AM GMT+1

May 19th & 20th 2021

workshops

- DAY ONE & DAY TWO
Mastering The Camera Body
Storyboard vs. Sketch Drawing
Gesture Drawing for Animation & Illustration
Voice Over and Narration

Competition

Best Animated Short Film
Best Kids Book

AfroAnimation Digital Wall

KUDAKWASHE MACHEKANO

A professional illustrator. He works in digital and traditional mediums, such as ink and watercolor. Her work consists of original ideas as well as fan art.

LYLE RINGOLD

27 years-old

Lyle is a new upcoming comic writer/creator  from the south suburbs of Chicago, Illinois. He is currently producing the story of "Tevin Fields as The Watchman".

LYLE RINGOLD

27 years-old

Lyle is a new upcoming comic writer/creator  from the south suburbs of Chicago, Illinois. He is currently producing the story of "Tevin Fields as The Watchman".

About The Founder and Co-Chair

Hi, I am Keith White

I attended Howard University and have been a media and tech entrepreneur for over 20+ years, working in a number of countries.
While traveling in Africa, I met many creative people who expressed an interest in connecting with their American counterpart. In 2020, the George Floyd incident occurred, corporate America advocated  for change - focused on increased diversity, equity and inclusion in its talent pipeline. It made perfect sense to create AfroAnimation.
Get notified of Summit updates and an invite to our private app review launch.
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.